Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments

The Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments Special Interest Group concentrates on technologies and approaches focused at the single cell level and encompassing engineering cell microenvironments, biomaterial-induced cell signaling, stem cell manufacturing and differentiation, immunoengineering, and biomaterials for cell-based detection and diagnosis.

Objectives

  1. Engage members at the annual Society For Biomaterials meeting by guiding and sponsoring forums
  2. Promote networking through social events held at the annual meeting
  3. Share resources to support students and members

Officers

Chair: Danielle Benoit, PhD
University of Rochester
Biomedical Engineering
308 Goergen Hall
7204700507
Rochester, NY 14627
t: (720) 470-0507 x4700507
e: danielleswbenoit@gmail.com

Vice-Chair: Adam W Feinberg, PhD
Associate Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
t: (412) 268-4897
e: feinberg@andrew.cmu.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: Ashley Carson Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor
North Carolina State University and the UNC-Chapel Hill
911 Oval Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
t: (919) 513-8231
e: aecarso2@ncsu.edu

Program Chair: Scott Wood, PhD
Assistant Professor
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
501 East Saint Joseph St
EEP 234
Rapid City, SD 57701
t: (605) 394-5222
e: scott.t.wood@gmail.com

Web Contact: Holly Mae Lauridsen
Yale University
55 Prospect St. Office 301C
New Haven, CT 06511
t: (503) 310-0250
e:  holly.lauridsen@yale.edu

Student Contact: Dipankar Dutta
ASU SBHSE
Bioengineering
PO Box 879709
Tempe, AZ 85287
t: (240) 315-5064
e: dipankar.dutta@asu.edu

Industry Representative: Shalini Gohil
Postdoctoral Fellow
UConn Health
ARB, Room E7038, MC3711
263, Farmington Ave, UConn Health
Farmington, CT 06032
t: (443) 978-0477
e: gohil@uchc.edu

Biomaterials Forum Reporter: Daniel L. Alge, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Texas A&M University
5045 Emerging Technologies Building
3120 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-3120
t: (979) 458-9248
e: dalge@bme.tamu.edu 

Past Chair: Sarah Stabenfeldt, PhD
Arizona State University
School of Biological & Health Systems En
PO Box 879709
Tempe, AZ 85287-9709
t: (480) 965-8336
e: Sarah.Stabenfeldt@asu.edu

Click here for membership list (member log-in required - only available to members of this committee)

Visit the ECTM SIG Community Page (member log-in required)

Back to SIGs Overview

SFB News

The March for Science is the first step of a global movement to defend the vital role science plays in our health, safety, economies, and governments.  Join us in Washington, DC on April 22, 2017!  For more information, please visit: ...