Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments

The Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments Special Interest Group concentrates on technologies and approaches focused at the single cell level and encompassing engineering cell microenvironments, biomaterial-induced cell signaling, stem cell manufacturing and differentiation, immunoengineering, and biomaterials for cell-based detection and diagnosis.

Objectives

  1. Engage members at the annual Society For Biomaterials meeting by guiding and sponsoring forums
  2. Promote networking through social events held at the annual meeting
  3. Share resources to support students and members

Officers

Chair: Sarah Stabenfeldt, PhD
Arizona State University
School of Biological & Health Systems En
PO Box 879709
Tempe, AZ 85287-9709
t: (480) 965-8336
e: Sarah.Stabenfeldt@asu.edu

Vice-Chair: Anshu B. Mathur Ph.D
Assistant Professor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Plastic Surgery
1515 Holcombe Blvd 602
Houston, TX 77459
t: (713) 563-7568
e: amathur@mdanderson.org

Secretary/Treasurer: Danielle Benoit , PhD
University of Rochester
Bioengineering
308 Goergen Hall
Box 270168
Rochester, NY 14627
t: (585) 273-2698
e: benoit@bme.rochester.edu

Program Chair: Adam Feinberg, PhD
Carnegie Mellon University
700 Technology Dr
PTC 4315
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
t: (412) 268-4897
e: feinberg@andrew.cmu.edu

Web Contact: Holly Mae Lauridsen
Yale University
55 Prospect St. Office 301C
New Haven, CT 06511
t: (503) 310-0250
e:  holly.lauridsen@yale.edu

Student Contact: Dipankar Dutta
ASU SBHSE
Bioengineering
PO Box 879709
Tempe, AZ 85287
t: (240) 315-5064
e: dipankar.dutta@asu.edu

Industry Representative: Shalini Gohil
Postdoctoral Fellow
UConn Health
ARB, Room E7038, MC3711
263, Farmington Ave, UConn Health
Farmington, CT 06032
t: (443) 978-0477
e: gohil@uchc.edu

Biomaterials Forum Reporter: Daniel L. Alge, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Texas A&M University
5045 Emerging Technologies Building
3120 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-3120
t: (979) 458-9248
e: dalge@bme.tamu.edu 

Past Chair: Brendan Harley, ScD
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dept of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineer
110 Roger Adams Lab
600 South Mathews Ave, MC712, Box C3
Urbana, IL 61801
t: (217) 244-7112
f: (217) 333-5052
e: bharley@alum.mit.edu

Click here for membership list (member log-in required - only available to members of this committee)

Visit the ECTM SIG Community Page (member log-in required)

Back to SIGs Overview

SFB News

Design and test new polymers with clinical uses in mind, urge Nicholas A. Peppas and Ali Khademhosseini.