Cardiovascular Biomaterials

The Cardiovascular Special Interest Group has the mission to foster the professional interaction and address the common concerns of academic and industrial scientists and engineers, clinicians, and regulatory professionals concerned with the discovery, research, development, and use of biomaterials for cardiovascular devices and implants.

 

Officers

Chair: Rami Tzafriri, PhD
Director, Research and Innovation
CBSET, Inc.
Research and Innovation
500 Shire Way
Lexington, MA 02420
t: (781) 541-5589
e: rtzafriri@cbset.org

Vice-Chair: Ngan Huang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Stanford University
300 Pasteur Dr
MC 5407
Stanford, CA 94305-5407
t: (510) 847-6870
e: ngantina@stanford.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: C. LaShan Simpson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Mississippi State University
Box 9632
Mississippi State, MS 39762
e: clsimpson@abe.msstate.edu

Program Chair: Mazen Albaghdadi, MD MSc
Graduate Assistant, Interventional Cardiology
Fellow, Cardiovascular Research Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Harvard Medical School
t: 617-724-9353
e: MALBAGHDADI@mgh.harvard.edu
 

Web Contact: Jaci Bliley, M.Sc
PhD student
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue 4N201 Scott Hall
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
t: (518) 321-7010
e: jbliley@andrew.cmu.edu

Student Contact: Jaci Bliley, M.Sc
PhD student
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue 4N201 Scott Hall
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
t: (518) 321-7010
e: jbliley@andrew.cmu.edu

Industry Representative: Margaret W Kayo, PhD, MBA
President
Margaret Inc.
3 BERKSHIRE
ALISO VIEJO, CA 92656
t: (949) 903-3104
e: margaretkayo@gmail.com

Biomaterials Forum Reporter: Chris Bashur, PhD
Associate Professor
150 West University Blvd.
Melbourne, FL 32901
T: (321) 674-8488
E: cbashur@fit.edu

Past Chair: Laura Indolfi, PhD
Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Postdoctoral Associate
77 Massachusetts Ave
Bldg E25-449
Cambridge, MA 02139
t: (857) 413-1698
e: lindolfi@mit.edu

Relevant Journals

Current Research

Check us out on Facebook

Click here for membership list (member log-in required - only available to members of this committee)

 

Back to SIGs overview

SFB News

SFB member, Natalie Artzi, was awarded this year’s $100,000 BRIght Futures Prize to advance her work!