Cardiovascular Biomaterials

The Cardiovascular Special Interest Group has the mission to foster the professional interaction and address the common concerns of academic and industrial scientists and engineers, clinicians, and regulatory professionals concerned with the discovery, research, development, and use of biomaterials for cardiovascular devices and implants.

 

Officers

Chair: Rami Tzafriri, PhD
Director, Research and Innovation
CBSET, Inc.
Research and Innovation
500 Shire Way
Lexington, MA 02420
t: (781) 541-5589
e: rtzafriri@cbset.org

Vice-Chair: Aaron Baker, PhD
University of Texas at Austin
Biomedical Engineering
107 W. Dean Keeton St.
BME 5.202D
Austin, TX 78712
t: (512) 232-7114
e:  abbaker@austin.utexas.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: Subhamoy Das, B.Tech, MSE, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
University of California, Berkeley
Bioengineering
Hearst Memorial Mining Building, Room#140
Berkeley, CA 94720
t: (512) 965-5669
e: subhamoy@berkeley.edu

Program Chair: Mazen Albaghdadi, MD MSc
Graduate Assistant, Interventional Cardiology
Fellow, Cardiovascular Research Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Harvard Medical School
t: 617-724-9353
e: MALBAGHDADI@mgh.harvard.edu
 

Web Contact: Jaci Bliley, M.Sc
PhD student
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue 4N201 Scott Hall
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
t: (518) 321-7010
e: jbliley@andrew.cmu.edu

Student Contact: Jaci Bliley, M.Sc
PhD student
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue 4N201 Scott Hall
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
t: (518) 321-7010
e: jbliley@andrew.cmu.edu

Industry Representative: Mingfei Chen, PhD
Sr. Principal Engineer
Medtronic
3576 Unocal Place
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
t: (707) 591-7929
e: mingfei.chen@medtronic.com

Biomaterials Forum Reporter: Rami Tzafriri, PhD
Director, Research and Innovation
CBSET, Inc.
Research and Innovation
500 Shire Way
Lexington, MA 02420
t: (781) 541-5589
e: rtzafriri@cbset.org

Past Chair: Laura Indolfi, PhD
Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Postdoctoral Associate
77 Massachusetts Ave
Bldg E25-449
Cambridge, MA 02139
t: (857) 413-1698
e: lindolfi@mit.edu

Relevant Journals

Current Research

Check us out on Facebook

Click here for membership list (member log-in required - only available to members of this committee)

Visit the Cardiovascular SIG Community Page  (member log-in required)

Back to SIGs overview

SFB News

Past Society For Biomaterials President, Tom Webster, speaking about his nanotechnology research, was featured in Episode 2 of Year Million, a National Geographic television series on what life is going to be like for humans one million years in the...