2017 - 2018 SFB Board of Directors and Council

 

PRESIDENT:

David H. Kohn, PhD

University of Michigan
Dept. of Biologic & Materials Sciences
1011 N University Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Work Phone: (734) 764-2206
Work Email: dhkohn@umich.edu

PRESIDENT-ELECT:

Andres J. Garcia, PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology
Mechanical Engineering
315 Ferst Dr
Rm 2310 Petit Biotechnology Bldg
Atlanta, GA 30332
Work Phone: (404) 894-9384
Work Email: andres.garcia@me.gatech.edu

SECRETARY/TREASURER:

Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, PhD

The University of Texas at Austin
107 W Dean Keeton St. Stop C0800
BME 3.314
Austin, TX 78712
Work Phone: (512) 471-3604
Work Email: sakiyama@utexas.edu

SECRETARY/TREASURER-ELECT:

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, PhD

The University of Texas at Austin
107 W Dean Keeton St. Stop C0800
BME 
Austin, TX 78712
Work Phone: () 
Work Email: 

MEMBER-AT-LARGE:

Helen H. Lu, PhD

Columbia University
Biomedical Engineering
1217 Amsterdam Ave
New York, NY 10027
Work Phone: (212) 854-4071 
Work Email:  hhlu@columbia.edu
 

1ST PAST PRESIDENT:

Liisa T. Kuhn, PhD

University of Connecticut Health Center
Center for Biomaterials
263 Farmington Ave MC1615
Farmington, CT 06030-1615
Work Phone: (860) 679-3922
Work Email: lkuhn@uchc.edu

2ND PAST PRESIDENT:

Thomas Webster, PhD 

Northeastern University
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
313 Snell Engineering Center
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-6585
Work Email: th.webster@northeastern.edu

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS
REPRESENTATIVE:

Sarah E. Stabenfeldt, PhD

Arizona State University
School of Biological & Health Systems En
PO Box 879709
Tempe, AZ 85287-9709
Work Phone: (480) 965-8336
Work Email: sarah.stabenfeldt@asu.edu

 

2017 - 2018 OFFICERS AND COMITTEE CHAIRS

JBMR PART A EDITOR: 

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Dept. of Pathology
Wolstein Bldg., Room 5105
2103 Cornell Road
Cleveland, OH 44106
Work Phone: (216) 368-0279
Work Email: jma6@case.edu

JBMR PART B EDITOR:

Jeremy L. Gilbert, PhD

Syracuse University
Dept. of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering
Syracuse Biomaterials Institute
303C Bowne Hall
Syracuse, NY 13244
Work Phone: (315) 443-2105
Work Email: gilbert@ecs.syr.edu

BIOMATERIALS FORUM EDITOR:

Guigen Zhang, PhD

Clemson University
Dept. of Bioengineering
401 Rhodes Engineering Research Center
Clemson, SC 29634-0905
Work Phone: (864) 656-4262
Work Email: guigen@clemson.edu

WEB EDITOR:

Adam Ekenseair, PhD

Northeastern University
Chemical Engineering
360 Huntington Ave
313 SN
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-8742
Work Email: a.ekenseair@neu.edu

AWARDS, CEREMONIES,
AND NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE:

Nicholas P. Ziats, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Department of Pathology
2103 Cornell Road
Wolstein Building #5143
Cleveland, OH 44106
Work Phone: (216) 368-5176
Work Email: npz@case.edu

BYLAWS COMMITTEE:

Benajmin G. Keselowsky, PhD

University of Florida
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
1275 Center Dr. BMS Bldg JG56
PO Box 116131
Gainesville, FL 32611-6131
Work Phone: (352) 273-5878
Work Email: bkeselowsky@bme.ufl.edu

EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL
DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE:

Jan P. Stegemann, PhD

University of Michigan 
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
1101 Beal Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Work Phone: (734) 764-8313
Work Email: jpsteg@umich.edu

FINANCE COMMITTEE:

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, PhD

The University of Texas at Austin
107 W Dean Keeton St. Stop C0800
BME 
Austin, TX 78712
Work Phone: () 
Work Email: 

INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:

Peter G. Edelman, PhD

Boston Scientific
3 Scimed Place
Mail Stop C140
Maple Grove, MN 55311
Work Phone: (763) 494-1486
Work Email: Peter.Edelman@bsci.com

LIAISON COMMITTEE:

L.D. Timmie Topoleski, PhD

UMBC
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
1000 Hilltop Circle, Eng 210
Baltimore, MD 21250
Work Phone: (410) 455-3302
Work Email: topoleski@umbc.edu

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE:

Christopher J. Gehrmann

Medtronic
Spinal and Biologics
1800 Pyramid Place
Memphis, TN 38132
Work Phone: (901) 399-2634
Work Email: christopher.j.gehrmann@medtronic.com

PRESIDENTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

Liisa T. Kuhn, PhD

University of Connecticut Health Center
Center for Biomaterials
263 Farmington Ave MC1615
Farmington, CT 06030-1615
Work Phone: (860) 679-3922
Work Email: lkuhn@uchc.edu

PROGRAM COMMITTEE (CO-CHAIR):

Johnna Temenoff, PhD

Georgia Tech/Emory
Biomedical Engineering
315 Ferst Dr, Rm 2305
Atlanta, GA 30332
Work Phone: (404) 385-5026
Work Email: johnna.temenoff@bme.gatech.edu

PROGRAM COMMITTEE (CO-CHAIR):

Robert Hastings, MS, PE

Depuy Synthes Joint Reconstruction
Department of Research
700 Orthopaedic Dr
PO Box 988
Warsaw, IN 46581-0988
Work Phone: (574) 372-7438
Work Email: bhastin2@its.jnj.com

 

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE:

Sachin S. Mamidwar, MBBS, MS

Orthogen Corporation
505 Morris Ave, Suite 204
Springfield, NJ 07081
Work Phone: (973) 467-2404
Work Email: smamidwar@orthogencorp.com

WEB AND SOCIAL MEDIA TASK FORCE:

Thomas Dziubla, PhD

University of Kentucky
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
177 F Paul Anderson Tower
Lexington, KY 40506-0046
Work Phone: (859) 257-4063
Work Email: dziubla@engr.uky.edu

STUDENT CHAPTER PRESIDENT:

Daniel Hachim, PhD

McGowan Institute/University of Pittsburgh
450 Technology Drive, Suite 323.4
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Work Email: djh88@pitt.edu

 

SFB News

With so many members of the biomaterials community affected by Hurricane Harvey, the Society For Biomaterials provides the following information to those who would like to aid in relief efforts or volunteer in the disaster areas. Individuals,...