2016 - 2017 SFB Board of Directors and Council

 

PRESIDENT:

Liisa T. Kuhn, PhD

University of Connecticut Health Center
Center for Biomaterials
263 Farmington Ave MC1615
Farmington, CT 06030-1615
Work Phone: (860) 679-3922
Work Email: lkuhn@uchc.edu

PRESIDENT-ELECT:

David H. Kohn, PhD

University of Michigan
Dept. of Biologic & Materials Sciences
1011 N University Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Work Phone: (734) 764-2206
Work Email: dhkohn@umich.edu

SECRETARY/TREASURER:

Elizabeth A. Friis, PhD

University of Kansas
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
1530 W 15th St.
Learned Hall, Room 3138
Lawrence, KS 66045-2234
Work Phone: (785) 864-2104
Work Email: lfriis@ku.edu

SECRETARY/TREASURER-ELECT:

Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, PhD

The University of Texas at Austin
107 W Dean Keeton St. Stop C0800
BME 3.314
Austin, TX 78712
Work Phone: (512) 471-3604
Work Email: sakiyama@utexas.edu

MEMBER-AT-LARGE:

Andres J. Garcia, PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology
Mechanical Engineering
315 Ferst Dr
Rm 2310 Petit Biotechnology Bldg
Atlanta, GA 30332
Work Phone: (404) 894-9384
Work Email: andres.garcia@me.gatech.edu

1ST PAST PRESIDENT:

Thomas Webster, PhD 

Northeastern University
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
313 Snell Engineering Center
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-6585
Work Email: th.webster@northeastern.edu

2ND PAST PRESIDENT:

Nicholas P. Ziats, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Department of Pathology
2103 Cornell Road
Wolstein Building #5143
Cleveland, OH 44106
Work Phone: (216) 368-5176
Work Email: npz@case.edu

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS
REPRESENTATIVE:

Brendan Harley, ScD

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineer
110 Roger Adams Lab
600 South Mathews Ave
Urbana, IL 61801
Work Phone: (217) 244-7112
Work Email: bharley@illinois.edu

 

2016 - 2017 OFFICERS

JBMR PART A EDITOR: 

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Dept. of Pathology
Wolstein Bldg., Room 5105
2103 Cornell Road
Cleveland, OH 44106
Work Phone: (216) 368-0279
Work Email: jma6@case.edu

JBMR PART B EDITOR:

Jeremy L. Gilbert, PhD

Syracuse University
Dept. of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering
Syracuse Biomaterials Institute
303C Bowne Hall
Syracuse, NY 13244
Work Phone: (315) 443-2105
Work Email: gilbert@ecs.syr.edu

BIOMATERIALS FORUM EDITOR:

Guigen Zhang, PhD

Clemson University
Dept. of Bioengineering
401 Rhodes Engineering Research Center
Clemson, SC 29634-0905
Work Phone: (864) 656-4262
Work Email: guigen@clemson.edu

WEB EDITOR:

Adam Ekenseair, PhD

Northeastern University
Chemical Engineering
360 Huntington Ave
313 SN
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-8742
Work Email: a.ekenseair@neu.edu

 

 

 

STANDING COMMITTEE 

CHAIRS

AWARDS, CEREMONIES,
AND NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE:

Antonios G. Mikos, PhD

Rice University
Dept. of Bioengineering
PO Box 1892/6100 Main Street MS 142
Houston, TX 77251
Work Phone: (713) 348-5355
Work Email: mikos@rice.edu

BYLAWS COMMITTEE:

Benjamin G. Keselowsky, PhD

University of Florida
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
1275 Center Dr. BMS Bldg JG56
PO Box 116131
Gainesville, FL 32611-6131

Work Phone: (352) 273-5878
Work Email: bkeselowsky@bme.ufl.edu

DEVICES AND MATERIALS COMMITTEE:

Spiro J. Megremis, PhD

American Dental Association
Dept. of Science
211 E Chicago Ave
Chicago, IL 60611-2678
Work Phone: (312) 440-3546
Work Email: megremiss@ada.org

EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL
DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE:

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, PhD

Texas A&M University
Biomedical Engineering
3120 TAMU
5033 Emerging Technologies Building
College Station, TX 77843

Work Phone: (979) 845-1771
Work Email: cosgriff.hernandez@tamu.edu

FINANCE COMMITTEE:

Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, PhD

The University of Texas at Austin
107 W Dean Keeton St. Stop C0800
BME 3.314
Austin, TX 78712
Work Phone: (512) 471-3604
Work Email: sakiyama@utexas.edu

 

LIAISON COMMITTEE:

L.D. Timmie Topoleski, PhD

UMBC
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
1000 Hilltop Circle, Eng 210
Baltimore, MD 21250
Work Phone: (410) 455-3302
Work Email: topoleski@umbc.edu

LONG RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE:

David H. Kohn, PhD

University of Michigan
Dept. of Biologic & Materials Sciences
1011 N University Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Work Phone: (734) 764-2206
Work Email: dhkohn@umich.edu
 

MEETINGS COMMITTEE:

Liisa T. Kuhn, PhD

University of Connecticut Health Center
Center for Biomaterials
263 Farmington Ave MC1615
Farmington, CT 06030-1615
Work Phone: (860) 679-3922
Work Email: lkuhn@uchc.edu
 

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE:

Lijie Grace Zhang, PhD

George Washington University
Dept. of Mechanical & Aerospace Eng. and Dept. of Medicine
801 22nd St. NW
3590 Science and Engineering Hall
Washington, DC 20052
Work Phone: (202) 994-2479
Work Email: lgzhang@gwu.edu

PRESIDENTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

Thomas Webster, PhD

Northeastern University
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
313 Snell Engineering Center
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-6585
Work Email:
 th.webster@northeastern.edu

PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

   

 Rebecca Carrier, PhD

Northeastern University
Chemical Engineering
313 Snell Engineering Center
Boston, MA 02115
Work Phone: (617) 373-7126
Work Email: r.carrier@neu.edu

Suping Lyu, PhD

Medtronic Inc.
CRHF
8200 Coral Seas St NE
Mounds View, MN 55112
Work Phone: (763) 526-1398
Work Email: suping.lyu@medtronic.com

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE:

Sachin S. Mamidwar, MBBS, MS

Orthogen Corporation
505 Morris Ave, Suite 204
Springfield, NJ 07081
Work Phone: (973) 467-2404
Work Email: smamidwar@orthogencorp.com

STUDENT CHAPTER PRESIDENT:

Christopher Gehrmann 

University of Memphis
Work Email: cjghrmnn@memphis.edu

 

 

   

SFB News

Design and test new polymers with clinical uses in mind, urge Nicholas A. Peppas and Ali Khademhosseini.